#### Labour/Le Travailleur

# Minutes / Procés-verbal

Volume 47, 2001

URI: https://id.erudit.org/iderudit/llt47min01

See table of contents

#### Publisher(s)

Canadian Committee on Labour History

ISSN 0700-3862 (print)

1911-4842 (digital)

Explore this journal

Cite this article (2001). Minutes / Procés-verbal. *Labour/Le Travailleur*, 47, 303–306.

All rights reserved © Canadian Committee on Labour History, 2001

érudit

This document is protected by copyright law. Use of the services of Érudit (including reproduction) is subject to its terms and conditions, which can be viewed online.

https://apropos.erudit.org/en/users/policy-on-use/

#### This article is disseminated and preserved by Érudit.

Érudit is a non-profit inter-university consortium of the Université de Montréal, Université Laval, and the Université du Québec à Montréal. Its mission is to promote and disseminate research.

https://www.erudit.org/en/

# MINUTES/PROCÈS-VERBAL

#### ANNUAL MEETING CANADIAN COMMITTEE ON LABOUR HISTORY EDMONTON, 27 MAY 2000

#### CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 12:10 P.M.

#### ATTENDANCE (17)

Cecilia Danysk Alvin Finkel Nancy Forestall David Frank David Fraser Gerry Friesen Julie Guard Craig Heron Franca Iacovetta Greg Kealey Dominique Marshall Tom Mitchell Jim Naylor Bryan Palmer Georgina Taylor Jeff Taylor Irene Whitfield

#### AGENDA

Members present accepted the agenda as presented. Members present adopted the minutes of the last meeting as presented in *Labour/ Le Travail*, 44 (Fall 1999), 339-341. 304 LABOUR/LE TRAVAIL

#### **BUSINESS ARISING**

None

#### REPORT OF THE PRESIDENT

JAMES NAYLOR reported on the accomplishments of various CCLH members, who have won book prizes and nominations. The composition of the graduate and undergraduate committees of the Eugene A. Forsey Prizes in Canadian Labour and Working Class History was discussed and reorganized, with both committees in place for the 2000 prize adjudication.

Members were invited to send their syllabi for courses on labour and working class history, or links to their own websites, to the CCLH, which has received several syllabi and is making them available on the CCLH website. A discussion ensued about copyright of online materials, pointing to the need for members to protect their intellectual property rights with ownership statements on websites.

Alvin Finkel and the committee responsible for organizing the labour history workshop were thanked for their work in producing a stimulating workshop at the Congress 2000 meeting. Discussion ensued about the feasibility of continuing the workshops at subsequent CSSH meetings and about the need for political content and linkages with the labour movement.

The lack of CCLH sponsorship of labour history sessions at the Congress 2000 meeting was noted. Members were encouraged to organize labour history sessions for next year and to remind the program committee of linkages in order to raise the CCLH profile.

#### REPORT OF THE TREASURER

GREGORY S. KEALEY presented the financial report.

Members present accepted the financial report.

# REPORT OF THE EDITOR

BRYAN D. PALMER thanked Irene Whitfield and Josephine Thompson for their work in producing the recent fall and spring issues of *Labour/Le Travail*, and reported on the work being done to increase subscriptions. He also reported on upcoming theme issues and on a new section entitled "Presentations" added with the current issue.

Outgoing book review editors, Andrée Lévesque and Mark Leier, were thanked for their valuable services, and Alvin Finkel was welcomed as the new English book review editor.

Members present accepted the editor's report.

# OTHER BUSINESS

FRANCA IACOVETTA announced an upcoming conference on Race and Working Class History at the University of Toronto, tentatively scheduled for mid-October.

# ELECTIONS

M/S/C: To acclaim the present Executive President: James Naylor (Brandon) Vice-President: Christine Burr (Windsor) Secretary: Cecilia Danysk (Western Washington) Treasurer: Gregory S. Kealey (Memorial)

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Members present adjourned at 1:20 p.m.