Acadiensis ACADIENSIS

## **Backmatter**

Volume 20, Number 1, Autumn 1990

URI: https://id.erudit.org/iderudit/acad20\_1bm01

See table of contents

Publisher(s)

The Department of History of the University of New Brunswick

**ISSN** 

0044-5851 (print) 1712-7432 (digital)

Explore this journal

Cite this document

(1990). Backmatter. Acadiensis, 20(1), 275-278.

All rights reserved  ${\rm @}$  Department of History at the University of New Brunswick, 1990

This document is protected by copyright law. Use of the services of Érudit (including reproduction) is subject to its terms and conditions, which can be viewed online.

https://apropos.erudit.org/en/users/policy-on-use/



Érudit is a non-profit inter-university consortium of the Université de Montréal, Université Laval, and the Université du Québec à Montréal. Its mission is to promote and disseminate research.

https://www.erudit.org/en/

## THE DAVID ALEXANDER PRIZE

The David Alexander Prize is awarded annually for the best essay on the history of Atlantic Canada written in course by a full-time undergraduate student in any university. The winner of the prize for 1990 is James E.A. Stanley, a student at the University of New Brunswick for his essay on "The Rise of the Canadian Brotherhood of Railroad Employees: A Regional Industrial Union?". The winner is selected by a panel of judges including the Honourable George Stanley of New Brunswick, Professor Neil MacKinnon of St. Francis Xavier University and Professor Eric Sager of the University of Victoria.

The David Alexander Prize will be awarded for the tenth time in 1991.

Conditions: Entries must be undergraduate essays between 1500 and 3500 words in length on some aspect of the history of Atlantic Canada, written in English or French. They may be research, interpretive or historiographical efforts. The author must be a full-time undergraduate student at an accredited university or college. The essay must have been written to meet the requirements of an undergraduate credit course during the 1990-91 academic year. Previous winners of the Prize may not compete.

Submission: Entries shall be submitted by course instructors no later than 10 May 1991. No instructor shall submit more than two entries. Essays must be typed neatly and should not bear the instructor's comments or a grade. Entries should be sent to The Secretary, *Acadiensis*, Campus House, University of New Brunswick, P.O. Box 4400, Fredericton, NB E3B 5A3.

Adjudication: Entries will be judged by a panel of three distinguished historians. The winner will be announced in the autumn of 1991. No runners-up or honorary mentions will be designated.

Prize: \$250.00

## THE HILDA NEATBY PRIZE IN WOMEN'S HISTORY

The purpose of the Hilda Neatby Prize in Women's History, awarded since 1983 by the Canadian Committee on Women's History at the annual meeting of the Canadian Historical Association, is to encourage the publication of scholarly articles in women's history in Canadian journals and books. Any academic article published in Canada during 1990 and deemed to make an original and scholarly contribution to the field of women's history is eligible for nomination for the 1991 prize.

Send nominations, and 8 copies of the nominated article, before 1 March 1991 to Judith Fingard, Department of History, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3J5.



